diorama · dollhouse · hobby

IKEA Dollhouse Updates

Hello friends and subbies! Welcome to the blog today. I’m so glad you landed here today, and I hope you consider following or subscribing.

Happy Holidays, Happy New Year, and every other holiday and or occasion that I’ve been away. Yes, yes, I’ve been absent from this blog for quite some time, but I’m still working on the house.

I stalled for a bit because, well …life… but I’m back to continue with updates and finally finish this house. After watching many [many] YouTube videos, I’ve built just a few items. Two more fireplaces which came out better than the last, and a bookcase that looks very rudimentary, but hey, at least I tried.

I’ve also flipped a few rooms from the last time I showed my little house. I’ve moved the bedroom and bathroom upstairs, and I’ve decided to move the kitchen downstairs and have a little sitting room off to the side.

What I’ve Learned

When I initially decided on the rooms, I didn’t think about how painting the walls darker would affect this little house.  Mainly because the IKEA dollhouse [shelf] has no windows, so painting a wall black and then using some William Morris floral wallpaper really made it seem too dark.

I love my black, but in the future, I will use it strategically. In the **after** photo, I’ve used lighter scrapbook paper, and I’m adding a white brick wall with some molding, new floors, and art.

Why Swap Rooms?

The reason for the swap is that the upper-level ceiling is vaulted, so there’s a little more light. I’ve added some white brick wallpaper, a plant I made using faux greenery, a little terracotta pot, and some brown moss [Michaels], along with a lighter floral wallpaper which really helps balance this space.

I’m keeping the black fireplace with its faux marble base, and this little mirror from Mustard Miniatures is so stinkin’ cute, but its main purpose is bouncing the light. I’m adding little cut logs, beams, and flooring.  My floor has been stained, and it’s ready, but I’m waiting on some Miter Cut Shears so I don’t destroy my regular shears.

(BEDDING: The bed is from Macy Mae; the pillow is really a crochet throw rolled up; the sheet under the comforter is fabric that I’ve had in my stash, and the comforter is actually the case that my own bedding came in, so now I get to match my house…LOL)

Other Room Updates

BATHROOM
I love this new space for the bathroom because it’s not so closed in.  I only need to add a faux glass wall divider [acrylic sheets], tile wallpaper and flooring, a toilet, and some lighting, and the bathroom is complete.

SITTING ROOM
I still need to work on this little sitting room.  I wanted a side table, but it’s really small, so I may wait and save it for another project.  Since this was the bathroom, I will lighten up that black wall [done!], add lighting and a rug, and lastly, some art.

THE KITCHEN
This, by far, is the biggest undertaking because I’ve looked at so many I’m confused.  This will be a purchase for me, so I’m looking for the entire surround, a table, chairs, a rug, lighting, and kitchen accessories.  This will be the last room I finish because it will cost the most, as I can’t make it.

Running Check List

This is an ongoing checklist of everything remaining because it helps to put things into a visual list that I can look at.

  • Bedroom Flooring
  • Paint ceiling
  • ceiling beams
  • fireplace logs
  • bedroom rug
  • side table
  • house art [all rooms]
  • bathroom divider
  • toilet
  • bathroom flooring
  • sitting room back wall
  • sitting room side table [?]
  • repaint black wall
  • kitchen [tbd]
  • Roof Shingles
  • Ivy for the outside …whew!

Yes, it’s A LOT for me to tackle, but I will take it room by room.  Once my house is complete, I want to work on room boxes or find an old dollhouse to flip.

SOURCES
Shrunk Magazine
Mustard Miniatures
Michael’s
Home Depot
Amazon

Thanks so much for reading my post and visiting the blog today, don’t forget to like and follow. I’ll be back next week with some progress. — Have a great week!

Leave a comment